Moving to United Kingdom

8 routes for people from the US, Canada and the UK, each checked against official sources. Find the one that fits, then check it with the source before you apply.

Freelance or your own business

UK startup founder visa

Innovator Founder visa

Founders of a new, innovative, scalable business endorsed by an approved UK endorsing body.

What you need
  • Endorsement that the business is new (not already trading), innovative, viable and scalable; meet the endorsing body at 12 and 24 months
  • No minimum investment stated on GOV.UK
Not for
  • Joining an existing trading business
  • Lifestyle or non-scalable businesses
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Endorsement first, then visa online from inside or outside the UK.
How long it takes
Not stated on the overview page.
First permit
3 years
Renewal
Extend for 3 years at a time; no limit on extensions.
Longer term
Permanent residence after about 3 years. Citizenship after about 6 years.
Family
Partner and children can apply as dependants.
Sources GOV.UK: Innovator Founder visa (official) Checked 28 Oct 2026. General information, not immigration advice.
A job offer

UK work visa

Skilled Worker visa

Graduate-level professionals with a job offer from a UK Home Office-licensed sponsor paying at least GBP 41,700 or the occupation's going rate.

What you need
  • Salary of at least GBP 41,700 a year or the going rate for the occupation code, whichever is higher (GBP 41,700 a year)
  • Lower floor (for example, job on the immigration salary list, under-26/new entrant, relevant PhD), outside healthcare and education (GBP 33,400 a year)
  • Savings held 28 consecutive days (waived if in the UK 12+ months or employer certifies maintenance) (GBP 1,270 a lump_sum)
  • Certificate of sponsorship from a licensed employer; apply within 3 months of getting it
  • English (speak, read, write, understand); level set in the Immigration Rules
Not for
  • Self-employed or remote work for a non-UK employer
  • Most medium-skilled jobs since 22 July 2025 unless on the immigration salary list or extending an older permission
  • Care workers bringing dependants (restricted since 11 March 2024)
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Apply online; from outside the UK attend a visa application centre or use the ID check app where eligible. Switching inside the UK is allowed from most routes (not from visitor).
How long it takes
Usually 3 weeks from outside the UK, 8 weeks from inside (gov.uk).
First permit
Up to 5 years
Renewal
Extendable; no maximum total.
Longer term
Permanent residence after about 5 years. Citizenship after about 6 years.
Family
Partner and children can come as dependants; savings GBP 285 for a partner, GBP 315 for the first child, GBP 200 per additional child; each pays the visa fee and health surcharge. Care and senior care workers cannot bring new dependants unless continuously employed in that role since before 11 March 2024.
Family roots

UK Ancestry visa

Commonwealth citizens (including Canadians and Australians) aged 17+ with a grandparent born in the UK who plan to work in the UK. Not open to US citizens unless they also hold a Commonwealth passport.

What you need
  • Commonwealth citizen (or British overseas citizen, BOTC, BN(O), or Zimbabwe citizen) with a grandparent born in the UK, Channel Islands, Isle of Man, or in what is now Ireland before 31 March 1922; adoption counts, step-parents do not
  • Able to work and intending to work in the UK; age 17 or over
  • Enough money to support and house yourself and dependants without public funds; no fixed amount
Not for
  • US citizens without a Commonwealth nationality
  • Switching from inside the UK on another visa
  • People needing public funds
Where you apply
From home, at a consulate. Apply online from outside the UK; cannot switch in-country.
How long it takes
Usually 3 weeks from outside the UK (gov.uk).
First permit
5 years
Renewal
Extend for another 5 years, or apply for ILR after 5 years.
Longer term
Permanent residence after about 5 years. Citizenship after about 6 years.
Family
Partner and children can come as dependants; each pays the fee and health surcharge.
Sources GOV.UK: UK Ancestry visa (official)GOV.UK: UK Ancestry eligibility (official) Checked 28 Oct 2026. General information, not immigration advice.
Study changing

UK student visa

Student visa

People admitted to a course at a licensed UK student sponsor; leads to the Graduate visa after a degree.

What you need
  • Confirmation of Acceptance for Studies (CAS) from a licensed sponsor
  • Course fees plus living costs; amount depends on circumstances and London/outside London (see GOV.UK money page)
Not for
  • Self-employment
  • Professional sport or coaching
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Online; outside or inside the UK.
How long it takes
Usually 3 weeks outside the UK, 8 weeks inside (gov.uk).
First permit
Length of course
Renewal
Extend for a further course; then Graduate visa: 2 years if applied by 31 December 2026, 18 months if applied on or after 1 January 2027, 3 years for PhD.
Family
Partner and children only in limited cases (mainly postgraduate research students); each pays the fee.
Sources GOV.UK: Student visa (official) Checked 28 Oct 2026. General information, not immigration advice.
Treaties and special cases

UK working holiday visa

Youth Mobility Scheme visa

Young Canadians, Australians, New Zealanders and a few other nationalities who want up to 2-3 years to live and work in the UK. Not available to US citizens.

What you need
  • Nationality and age: Australia, Canada, New Zealand, South Korea 18-35; Andorra, Iceland, Japan, Monaco, San Marino, Uruguay 18-30; Hong Kong (SAR passport) and Taiwan 18-30 and must win the ballot. USA not eligible. India uses the separate India Young Professionals Scheme.
  • Personal savings (GBP 2,530 a lump_sum)
Not for
  • US citizens
  • Bringing family members
  • Professional sportspeople
  • Self-employment with employees, owned premises or equipment over GBP 5,000
Where you apply
From home, at a consulate. Apply online from outside the UK, up to 6 months before travel.
How long it takes
Usually 3 weeks (gov.uk).
First permit
Up to 24 months
Renewal
Australian, Canadian and New Zealand citizens can extend by 1 year (3 years total).
Family
Cannot bring family members on this visa.
Sources GOV.UK: Youth Mobility Scheme (official)GOV.UK: Youth Mobility eligibility (official) Checked 28 Oct 2026. General information, not immigration advice.
Treaties and special cases

UK ETA

Electronic Travel Authorisation (ETA)

US, Canadian and Australian visitors making short trips (scouting, house-hunting) before applying for a residence route. Not a residence permit.

What you need
  • Needed by visa-exempt nationals including the USA, Canada, Australia and Europe; not needed with a British or Irish passport. Visits up to 6 months each.
Not for
  • Working or living in the UK
  • Irish and British passport holders (exempt)
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Online or by the UK ETA app before travel; avoid look-alike sites that charge more.
How long it takes
Not stated on the GOV.UK guidance page.
First permit
Multiple visits of up to 6 months; ETA validity typically 2 years or until passport expiry (not restated on the page checked)
Renewal
Apply for a new ETA when it expires or the passport changes.
Family
Each traveller, including children, needs their own ETA.
Sources GOV.UK: apply for an ETA (official) Checked 28 Oct 2026. General information, not immigration advice.
Treaties and special cases

UK talent visa

Global Talent visa

Leaders or emerging leaders in academia/research, arts and culture, or digital technology, endorsed by a UK body or holding an eligible prize; no job offer needed.

What you need
  • Endorsement from an approved endorsing body in the field, or being the named winner of an eligible prize; age 18+
Not for
  • People without a recognised track record in the three fields
  • Investors or general entrepreneurs (use Innovator Founder)
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Endorsement first (except prize route), then the visa online from inside or outside the UK.
How long it takes
Not stated on the overview page; standard visa service is usually 3 weeks outside the UK.
First permit
1 to 5 years at a time (applicant chooses)
Renewal
Extendable for 1 to 5 years; no total limit.
Longer term
Permanent residence after about 3 years. Citizenship after about 6 years.
Family
Partner and children can be included; each pays GBP 766 plus the health surcharge.
Sources GOV.UK: Global Talent visa (official)Mills & Reeve: earned settlement proposals (7 Sep 2026) Checked 28 Oct 2026. General information, not immigration advice.
Treaties and special cases

UK top-university graduate visa

High Potential Individual (HPI) visa

Recent graduates (last 5 years) of a non-UK university on the HPI eligible list who want 2-3 years to work or job-hunt in the UK without a sponsor.

What you need
  • Bachelor's, master's or PhD awarded in the last 5 years by a university on the annual HPI eligible list (non-UK universities only; list widened to the global top 100 from 4 November 2025); Ecctis check
  • Savings held 28 consecutive days (waived after 12 months in the UK on a visa) (GBP 1,270 a lump_sum)
  • English requirement (see GOV.UK knowledge of English page)
Not for
  • Graduates of UK universities
  • Anyone seeking settlement (HPI time does not count)
  • Applicants after the annual cap (8,000 per 1 November-31 October year) is reached
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Online, from inside or outside the UK.
How long it takes
Usually 3 weeks outside the UK, 8 weeks inside (gov.uk).
First permit
2 years (3 years for PhD holders)
Renewal
Cannot be extended; switch to another route (for example Skilled Worker) before expiry.
Family
Partner and children can join; each pays the fee, health surcharge and savings.
Sources GOV.UK: HPI visa (official)GOV.UK: HPI costs (official)BABC: HPI expansion Checked 28 Oct 2026. General information, not immigration advice.