Moving to United Arab Emirates

5 routes for people from the US, Canada and the UK, each checked against official sources. Find the one that fits, then check it with the source before you apply.

Keep your job, work remotely

UAE remote work visa (Dubai Virtual Working Programme)

Virtual Work residence visa (GDRFA Dubai service 'Visa Issuance (Virtual Work)'); federal remote-work residence visa

Remote employees or business owners working for a company outside the UAE who earn at least USD 3,500 a month and want a one-year base in Dubai with no UAE income tax.

What you need
  • Monthly income of at least USD 3,500 or the equivalent in foreign currency. (USD 3,500 a month)
  • Evidence that you work for an entity outside the UAE and that the work is done remotely.
  • Valid health insurance document (UAE-valid cover).
  • Passport valid for at least 6 months and a recent colour photo with white background.
Not for
  • Working for UAE employers or selling to UAE clients
  • Anyone seeking a route to permanent residence or citizenship
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. In Dubai, apply through GDRFA Dubai. From abroad you receive an entry permit valid for 60 days to complete residence formalities; applying from inside the UAE adds an AED 500 in-country fee. Other emirates process the federal version through ICP (not checked in this pass).
How long it takes
GDRFA Dubai lists an expected completion time of 48 hours for the visa issuance step; the medical test and Emirates ID add time.
First permit
1 year.
Renewal
Extendable for further one-year terms if conditions are still met (GDRFA: 'one-year, extendable').
Family
The holder can sponsor family members for the same period (GDRFA Dubai).
Sources GDRFA Dubai: Visa Issuance (Virtual Work) (official)Nomad Watch: UAE/Dubai virtual working (claims USD 5,000) Checked 1 Nov 2026. General information, not immigration advice.
Retire or live on savings

UAE retirement visa

Residence permit for the retired foreigner (GDRFA Dubai); retirement visa (ICP / ADRO)

Retirees aged 55 or over with AED 240,000 a year (AED 20,000 a month) of income, AED 1 million in savings, or UAE property worth AED 1 million.

What you need
  • Aged 55 or over. GDRFA Dubai also lists at least 15 years of service before retirement (inside or outside the UAE); secondary sources describe age 55 and 15 years' service as alternatives, so check which applies.
  • Fixed annual income of at least AED 240,000 (or foreign-currency equivalent), shown by 6 months of bank statements and an official letter on the income source. Meet this OR the savings OR the property test. (AED 240,000 a year)
  • Deposit of at least AED 1,000,000, moved to a UAE financial institution within 60 days of residence issuance unless invested in the UAE. Abu Dhabi asks for a statement showing it will stay for at least two years. (AED 1,000,000)
  • One or more UAE properties worth at least AED 1,000,000 (purchase or market value, assessed by the emirate's authority). Mortgaged property counts if the amount paid off is at least AED 1,000,000. (AED 1,000,000)
  • UAE health insurance is commonly listed by secondary sources; the GDRFA and ADRO pages do not mention it.
Not for
  • People under 55 without 15 years' service
  • Anyone who needs to work in the UAE on this permit
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Dubai: GDRFA Dubai smart services or a GDRFA/Amer centre. Abu Dhabi: ADRO states nominations for this category are 'currently unavailable through Abu Dhabi Residents Office'.
How long it takes
Not stated on official pages.
First permit
5 years.
Renewal
Renewable for 5 years on the same terms as the first grant.
Family
Not stated on the GDRFA page; secondary sources say a spouse and children can be sponsored.
Freelance or your own business

UAE freelancer Green Visa

Green visa for freelancers / self-employed

Graduate freelancers with a MOHRE freelance permit who earned at least AED 360,000 a year from self-employment over the previous two years, or can prove financial solvency.

What you need
  • Freelance work permit from the Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation (MOHRE).
  • Bachelor's degree, specialised diploma or equivalent.
  • Annual self-employment income for the previous two years of at least AED 360,000 or foreign-currency equivalent. ADDED lists proof of financial solvency for the whole residence as an alternative ('Or'); no figure given for that. (AED 360,000 a year)
Not for
  • Freelancers without a degree or diploma
  • People who have not yet obtained a MOHRE freelance permit
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Get the MOHRE freelance permit first, then apply for the Green Visa through ICP (Abu Dhabi via ADDED) or GDRFA Dubai.
How long it takes
Not stated.
First permit
5 years.
Renewal
Renewable for the same term if conditions are met (secondary sources).
Family
Secondary sources say Green Visa holders can sponsor a spouse and children; the ADDED page does not say.
Sources Abu Dhabi ADDED: Green visa for freelancers (official)Khaleej Times: 5-year UAE Green Visa Checked 1 Nov 2026. General information, not immigration advice.
A job offer

UAE work visa / Green Visa (skilled employee)

Standard work (employment) residence visa; Green visa for skilled employees

People with a UAE job offer: the employer sponsors a 2-year work visa, and graduates earning AED 15,000 a month or more in a skilled role can hold a self-sponsored 5-year Green Visa.

What you need
  • Employer applies for the standard work visa; you need a valid employment contract and MOHRE work permit.
  • Green Visa (skilled employee): monthly salary of at least AED 15,000 or equivalent. (AED 15,000 a month)
  • Green Visa (skilled employee): bachelor's degree or equivalent, in a job classified at MOHRE skill level 1, 2 or 3.
Not for
  • People without a UAE employer
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. The employer starts the standard work visa. Green Visa applications go through ICP (Abu Dhabi via ADDED/ICP) or GDRFA Dubai.
How long it takes
Not stated on official pages.
First permit
Standard work visa: 2 years. Green Visa: 5 years.
Renewal
Both renewable while conditions are met.
Family
Work-visa holders can usually sponsor family subject to salary rules (not verified in this pass).
Invest

UAE Golden Visa (investor)

Golden residence permit (investors): real estate, financial deposit, public investment, tax investor

Investors who can put AED 2 million into UAE property, a frozen UAE bank deposit or a UAE company, for a renewable 10-year residence.

What you need
  • Real estate: one or more properties worth at least AED 2,000,000 in total (mortgaged property accepted in Dubai; a joint share must itself be worth AED 2 million). A lien is placed on the property for the permit's validity. (AED 2,000,000)
  • Financial deposit: at least AED 2,000,000 in a UAE bank (or local sukuk/bonds), frozen for at least two years; withdrawal is not permitted during the permit. (AED 2,000,000)
  • Public investment: a company share worth at least AED 2,000,000, with an audited report, trade licence and tax registration. (AED 2,000,000)
  • Tax investor: a company or partnership paying at least AED 250,000 in UAE taxes a year. (AED 250,000 a year)
  • Proof of housing in Dubai (deposit route) and passport copy.
Not for
  • Anyone who needs the capital back within the permit period
  • People seeking citizenship
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Dubai: GDRFA Dubai through accredited centres (the page lists Al Tarash, Gulf Vision, Golden Cube, Al Yalayis and others); property value is certified by the Dubai Land Department. Other emirates through ICP.
How long it takes
Not stated on the GDRFA page.
First permit
10 years (GDRFA Dubai). The u.ae summary describes real-estate investor golden visas as 5 years and public investment as 10 years; check the issuing emirate.
Renewal
Renewable if the same conditions are still met.
Family
Holders can sponsor family members, including spouses and children (u.ae). Holders can stay outside the UAE longer than the usual six-month limit (u.ae).
Sources GDRFA Dubai: Issuing a golden residence permit (investors) (official)u.ae: Golden visa (official) Checked 1 Nov 2026. General information, not immigration advice.