Moving to Japan

4 routes for people from the US, Canada and the UK, each checked against official sources. Find the one that fits, then check it with the source before you apply.

Keep your job, work remotely

Japan digital nomad visa

Designated Activities (Digital Nomad), Immigration Services Agency

Remote employees and freelancers with clients abroad earning at least JPY 10 million a year who want up to six months in Japan.

What you need
  • Annual income of at least JPY 10 million at the time of application, shown by a tax or income certificate from the country where you worked. (JPY 10,000,000 a year)
  • Private medical travel insurance covering death, injury and illness for the whole stay, with at least JPY 10 million of medical cover. (JPY 10,000,000)
  • Nationality of a country that is both visa-exempt for Japan and has a tax treaty with Japan (the ISA publishes the list; the US, Canada and the UK meet both tests).
  • Remote work for an employer abroad, or services/goods sold to people abroad, using ICT. Work under a contract with a Japanese organisation is not allowed.
Not for
  • Anyone planning to stay longer than 6 months or settle
  • Working for Japanese companies or clients in Japan
Where you apply
From home, at a consulate. New entrants apply for a Certificate of Eligibility through the ISA, then the visa at a Japanese embassy or consulate (MOFA handles the visa step; check your local mission).
How long it takes
Not stated by the ISA.
First permit
6 months. No residence card is issued.
Renewal
No extension. After leaving, you must wait 6 months before applying for the same status again.
Family
A spouse or child can accompany you on a linked Designated Activities status for 6 months, with the same insurance rule; no separate income figure.
A job offer

Japan work visa / Highly Skilled Professional visa

Engineer/Specialist in Humanities/International Services status of residence; Highly Skilled Professional (points-based)

Graduates or experienced professionals with a job offer from a Japanese employer; high earners scoring 70+ points on the Highly Skilled Professional table get faster permanent residence.

What you need
  • Job offer or contract with an organisation in Japan; the employer usually applies for your Certificate of Eligibility.
  • Usually a degree related to the job or substantial professional experience (secondary sources: 10 years, or 3 years for international-services roles such as translation). Not checked on an ISA page.
  • Highly Skilled Professional option: 70 points or more on the points table (education, career, annual salary, age, research, Japanese ability and bonuses).
Not for
  • People without a Japanese employer
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Employer or agent applies for a Certificate of Eligibility at the regional immigration bureau; you then get the visa at a Japanese embassy or consulate.
How long it takes
Not stated in sources read.
First permit
Granted for set periods (secondary sources: up to 5 years); Highly Skilled Professional (i) is granted 5 years.
Renewal
Renewable while you keep qualifying employment.
Longer term
Permanent residence after about 10 years. Citizenship after about 10 years.
Family
Spouse and children can join on Dependent status. Highly Skilled Professionals may also bring parents or a domestic worker under conditions (MOJ HSP page).
Invest

Japan business manager (startup) visa

Business Manager (keiei-kanri) status of residence

Entrepreneurs who will run a company in Japan with at least JPY 30 million of capital, one full-time local employee and an office (rules tightened on 16 October 2025).

What you need
  • Paid-in capital or total investment of at least JPY 30 million (raised from JPY 5 million). (JPY 30,000,000)
  • At least one full-time employee who is a Japanese national, Special Permanent Resident or certain long-term status holder.
  • The applicant or the full-time employee must have sufficient Japanese ability (level not confirmed in sources read).
  • A master's degree in business administration or a field related to the business, or at least 3 years of business management experience.
  • Business plan, generally verified by a professional such as a certified tax accountant; independent office space (home offices generally no longer accepted).
Not for
  • Small solo ventures without JPY 30 million capital
  • Home-based businesses
Where you apply
From home or inside the country. Certificate of Eligibility through the regional immigration bureau (usually via a representative in Japan), then the visa at a Japanese embassy or consulate.
How long it takes
Not stated in sources read.
First permit
Not confirmed in this pass.
Renewal
Renewable; reports say renewals are also assessed against the new criteria.
Longer term
Permanent residence after about 10 years. Citizenship after about 10 years.
Family
Spouse and children can usually join on Dependent status (not verified for this status in this pass).
Treaties and special cases Canadian and UK citizens only

Japan working holiday visa

Working Holiday visa (Japan-Canada and Japan-United Kingdom arrangements)

Canadian and UK citizens aged 18 to 30 who want up to a year of travel in Japan with casual work, and can take part twice.

What you need
  • Aged 18 to 30 inclusive when applying. For Canada the arrangement says 18 to 25, extended to 30 by agreement; IRCC states 18 to 30.
  • Living in your country of nationality when you apply; primarily intending a holiday; not accompanied by dependants or children.
  • Return ticket or funds to buy one, plus 'reasonable funds' for the first part of the stay. MOFA gives no figure; the Japanese embassy in each country sets it (not verified).
  • Annual caps: Canada 6,283 visas, United Kingdom 6,000.
Not for
  • US citizens (Japan has no working holiday arrangement with the US)
  • Anyone bringing a partner or children
  • Work in bars, nightclubs, gambling or similar venues (prohibited)
Where you apply
From home, at a consulate. Apply to the Japanese embassy or consulate-general in your country.
How long it takes
Not stated by MOFA.
First permit
Up to 1 year per participation.
Renewal
Since 1 December 2024, Canadian and UK nationals can take part twice in a lifetime: two consecutive years or two separate one-year stays.
Family
Dependants are not allowed.
Your passport
Canada and the UK only. US citizens are not eligible.